About Us

Founded in 1947, the Racine Megacycle Club is one of the oldest Amateur Radio clubs in Wisconsin. It was first incorporated as a 501c7 (fraternal organization) in 1947 after federal law required it after WWII. The club became affiliated with the American Radio Relay League (ARRL) in 1948. In 1976 the club was first associated with the American Red Cross.

The purposes of this club are:

  • To promote knowledge of Amateur Radio
  • To exchange information and cooperation among members
  • To conduct club programs and activities which advance the general interest and welfare of Amateur Radio in Southeastern Wisconsin
  • To provide public service to the people of Southeastern Wisconsin

Full membership is open to all licensed Amateur Radio Operators. Associate membership is open to those actively engaged in a class leading to an amateur license and to all other interested persons and associations. Full membership includes all club privileges as well as rights to hold club office and to vote for club officers. Associate membership includes all club privileges except for the right to hold office and vote for club officers. Applications for membership shall be submitted at regular meetings and shall be accepted or refused upon majority vote of the membership present.

Regular meetings are held at the Racine YMCA, Image Management Family Branch YMCA, 8501 Campus Drive, Mount Pleasant, WI 53406. Most meetings on-site include an activity in addition to the regular business meeting. Note: There are times when the meeting time/dates change. Keep up to date by checking the website calendar.

The club holds classes to encourage people to become licensed Amateur Radio operators. These classes are scheduled on an as needed basis. The classes are free except for the price of the study materials and testing session. Licensed Amateur Radio operators teach the course with no gratuity, as a service to the club and to the community.

For further information about the Racine Megacycle Club, contact any club member or join us at our monthly membership meeting.


Board of Directors

Dan Miller / KA9OIL – President